Ashes by Amy Keen – Book Tour

Welcome to the Ashes Book Tour! Here I will talk about the book and interview the author.

ABOUT Ashes (Book #2) 

They will not give up…she’s about to find out why

Scarlett barely escaped with her life the last time she ran in to The Venari; but she refuses to spend her days looking over her shoulder.

Determined to be normal, she heads to Europe, only to learn that her wish to blend in is simply not meant to be. With Jake delayed in Salem, Scarlett is vulnerable and forced to rely on new found friends, The Collective; a band of people with gifts like her own.

When her desire to bring an end to her torment leads her to the dark underbelly of Paris, she discovers what The Venari plan for her is not death, but in fact much worse.

Review.

Ashes is the second book in the forsight series and what a book it is! It’s a fast paced masterpiece of modern day magic and is not to be missed! I really enjoyed this book, I’ve seen the main character, Scarlett, compared to Bella from twilight. I don’t really get that vibe from her. She’s a much stronger figure than Bella and it’s a competely different concept, apart from the romance part. What I will say about Scarlett is this; she could give Sabrina a run for her money!

As with Embers, I couldn’t put this book down. I found myself holding my breath in some parts of the book and Amy Keen is a fantastic writer. Every scene is described to a level where you can visualise the surroundings but yet it’s not over described. The reader still has the creative license to decide what things look like. This book is excitement at your finger tips!

It is well worth buying these books, and they are now available in paperback aswell as electronically.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Embers-Amy-Keen/dp/1906377545/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1368251407&sr=8-1&keywords=embers+by+amy+keen

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ashes-ebook/dp/B00CD4AWIG/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1368251407&sr=8-2&keywords=embers+by+amy+keen

I await the third book with great anticipation!

Excerpt from Ashes.

We took a sudden left down a path I hadn’t even noticed and I grew more painfully aware of how much deeper we were going, which meant I was losing track of how to get out. The air further down was damper and the putrid scent of the death housed in the rooms all around us was lingering, haunting the maze like a horde of ghosts.

Sutcliffe stopped at a large wooden door that ran flush with the stone wall. It was thick, old timber with heavy metal adornments and a huge door knob. He placed his hand over the handle and it split in two, one half separating from the other as the top slid to the right. Beneath what had appeared to be a normal handle was a small gray pad, not unlike what Elias had at his apartment. They had been making modifications. I guessed this is what he was referring to when he used the word sophisticated. The door came to life with a loud thunk. It moved back a few inches before sliding to the left and revealing a bright white laboratory style room. The luminescence of the clinical strip lights burned my eyes and I squinted to adjust. He dragged me forward and the room expanded before me into huge space that glowed white. To my left there was a bank of steel work benches with complex looking machinery and microscopes. Straight ahead there was a large dentist style chair with restraints on the arms and legs; a huge brace hung above it which looked like some kind of futuristic helmet and a hospital gurney, just like the one I had experienced the last time I lay in wait, at the back of the room with unused IV machines lined up alongside. On the right hand side there was a bank of monitors mounted on the wall above a control panel of blinking lights and switches so vast it looked like it could have been lifted right out of air traffic control. The wall of blank screens stretched ten deep and three high. There was nothing to suggest at all where we were stood, not a single bone or trace of stone. I had been in hospitals less equipped than this. If the circumstances were different I might have been impressed at what they had been able to achieve in these underground tombs, but the reality jolted me back into the moment and the darkness I had been fighting since I first learned about any of this twisted; we both knew that this room was set to bring about some form of conclusion.

My eyes were greedily trying to take it all in, desperately searching for clues of a way out, what exactly they would do with me in this room. The door had long since closed behind us and a glance confirmed my worst fears; there wasn’t just a code to get in. There was one to get out.

ABOUT Amy Keen

Amy works in PR by day and spends the rest of the time as a mum, wife, fan-girl and YA author. A total, unashamed book freak, she reads and writes as much as possible and has a penchant for anything ‘wordy’. If there is any time left over after all of the above, she can be found chatting at inhuman speeds, consuming absurd amounts of coffee (writer cliché #1) and attempting to diffuse her perpetual state of shopper’s guilt. Her new novel Ashes just released and her debut novel Embers (Foresight #1) came out in 2012.

Interview with Amy Keen, Author of the Forsight Series.

So Amy, here we are again 🙂 Are you excited about the tour?

Yes, really excited. It is the first time I have done one so I am looking forward to seeing how all the posts and reviews come together.

 

What gave you the inspiration for the setting of Ashes?

As with the first book, I was looking for history, mystery and some darkness and I was drawn to the history of the Catacombs in Paris as an exciting and quite fitting setting for the next instalment of the series.

 

There are two books in the Foresight Series so far, when is the third due?

Phoenix is in production and for the first time I am working to a publisher deadline. I was lucky that books one and two were written when I was signed so I didn’t have to finish them to a schedule! That said, it is in progress and coming along nicely so we hope to have it out in time for Christmas.

 

Do you think the series will grow more, or are you sticking to three books?

I would never say never to working on Scarlett’s story again and I am sure in the future there would be possibilities to explore, but my gut feeling is the third book is the final story as I am very passionate about not wearing out the reader love for and interest in Scarlett. I think it is important not to stretch a story too much as this can leave the readers feeling cheated and dilute the quality. I would do it if I thought I had a really strong idea that would do the series justice, but Phoenix is the end as it stands.

 

What kind of research do you do for your books?

I look a lot into the setting and trying to get as much detail as possible. With Embers for example, I had been to New England and Salem myself so I combine memories with research into additional, real locations to create the story. Where Ashes was concerned, I have also been to Paris, not that I claim to know it well but it allowed me to draw on some personal experience and the rest was from what I could read and learn about online. The internet makes it much easier to immerse yourself in far off lands!

 

If you could work with any author, who would it be?

This is a hard one. Right now, having just interviewed her for my blog, I would say Tonya Hurley. I love her book The Blessed and her style is edgy and keeps the reader on the edge of their seat. I would love to shadow her and find out more about her work on her books as well as some of the production, behind the scenes TV/Film work she has done.

This answer will always change though as I am so often inspired by authors and the worlds they create; it is very hard to choose one!

 

Are there any recent works which you admire?

The Blessed, as I mentioned above. I like its unapologetic approach to YA. It was not spoon feeding the reader; it was grittier than many YA books and dealt with heavy subject matter which I loved. I also really love the work of Kendare Blake (author of Anna Dressed in Blood and Girl of Nightmares).

 

You asked if I had ever been to the catacombs in Paris and the answer is sadly no. I would like to visit as I think the history is fascinating, but for the book I had to rely on eye witness accounts and the internet!

I would like to thank Gliterary Girl for the chance to do this book tour and for helping me along the way with information and support. This is the first tour I’ve done and I am very grateful for the chance!

Don’t forget to check out the other stops along the way! Each tour stop will be slightly different with each blogger doing a different mix of things and different opinions will come across in review.

The next stops are as follows;

Auggie Talks – http://auggie-talk.blogspot.co.uk/ – Review (Ashes)

JUNE 13th 

The Blog of Jessica Posey – Excerpt

Books Interventions and More!

JUNE 14th

SilverWoodSketches – Review

Please Another Book – Excerpt

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Amazon / Goodreads

For publicity and Author information:

contact Sara

soconnor@gliterarygirl.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

