Interview with Author Iain Rob Wright

This is my interview with Iain Rob Wright, author of The Peeling series and many other books.

What made you want to become an author?

 

Desperation! If you’re asking me what made me become a ‘writer’ then I was born as one. I grew up writing stories and loving to read – it’s part of who I am. I became an author, though, because I hated the work I was doing and needed to take a chance on changing my life. I finished a book, got it published, and then wrote a new one. I was lucky. Then I discovered self-publishing and things got even better.

 

What inspired you to write “The Peeling”?

 

The movies Cabin Fever and Outbreak. I get a lot of inspiration from TV and Film.

 

 

Which one of The Peeling books do you feel is your best?

 

Probably Jeremy’s Choice and Patient Zero. I liked the characters in those the most.

 

 

Which character can you most relate to?

 

Jeremy, probably. Not because I am a cheater (I’m not), but because I have things that I regret in my past too.

 

 

You’ve written a range of books, which one would you recommend to someone wanting to read your work for the first time?

 

People seem to like The Final Winter, and it is also my debut novel, so that would be a good place to start. I feel I improved with subsequent books, but it is still one of my most popular stories.

 

 

Are you working on anything now? If so, what can you tell us about it?

 

I am working on a book called The Housemates. It is a cross between Saw and a reality TV show.

 

 

Who is your favourite author?

 

At the moment, probably Blake Crouch. But previously it has been Brian Keene, Jack Kilborn, Jeff Strand, Scott Sigler, Stephen King, Jack Ketchum, J. F. Gonzalez, and Richard Laymon.

 

 

What is your favourite book?

 

World War Z, The Rats (Herbert), Infected (Sigler), Survivor (Gonzalez), Dead Sea (Keene), Under The Dome (King)…who knows? I have hundreds!

 

Do you have any words for aspiring authors?

 

Just write as much as you can. The more you write, the better you will be through sheer practice. The more books you release (if you go the self-pub route) the more chance you will have of finding readers and their money) and affection!).

 

Thank you very much for participating in this interview Iain.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interview with Author Iain Rob Wright

  1. Claire Hill says:

    Great to learn a bit more about Iain and where he gets his ideas from 🙂

    • Glad you enjoyed it claire, if there’s anything else you want to ask just comment here as if I get a good few questions in I will arrange a Q&A post with Iain. He has lots of time for him fans so I’m sure he won’t mind 🙂

  2. Garden ideas says:

    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of
    this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to get that
    “perfect balance” between user friendliness and appearance.
    I must say you’ve done a fantastic job with this. Also, the blog loads very quick for me on Firefox.
    Outstanding Blog!

Leave a Reply

