My Granny Writes Erotica by Rosen Trevithick

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Granny-Writes-Erotica-Rosen-Trevithick-ebook/dp/B00E6XXSQA/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1382765255&sr=1-1&keywords=my+granny+writes+erotica

About Rosen Trevithick.

Image of Rosen Trevithick

Rosen is a British bestselling author, who writes fiction for children and adults.

She was born in Cornwall and grew up on Restronguet Creek. She studied Experimental Psychology at St Catherine’s College, Oxford, before moving back to the West Country. She now lives on the south coast of Devon with two imaginary cats, fantasising about getting a real one.

In 2011 Rosen was an aspiring author. Writing was a hobby. The following January sales of her Kindle books took off. Her total download count is now approaching quarter of a million.

Rosen has a variety of books in print including Pompomberry House and Seesaw, as well as over a dozen digital titles.

In 2013 she founded the Smelly Troll series – children’s chapter books written by Rosen and illustrated by Katie W. Stewart. Book one, The Troll Trap, has inspired dozens of children to try their hand at creative writing.

Rosen writes in a variety of genres with a strong leaning towards comedy. She has also dabbled with psychological fiction and mystery writing.

She loves wild swimming, mountain biking, interesting boots, quiffs, ‘sampling’ chocolate and cooking tasty treats. She dislikes house spiders, doing laundry and people putting costumes on their cats.

Review

I came across this book on my Facebook page for Rebbie Reviews (https://www.facebook.com/RebbieReviews ), someone had suggested that I read and review it. The recommendation had come purely from the title of the book and I figured it might be fun.

 Now, first and foremost, I am going to have a long wait to remove the image of the character, Muriel, from my mind. The things she does and says were made all the more comical to me by the fact that Muriel, is my grandmother’s name. I may even have to buy her this book!

 I wasn’t convinced about this book when I bought it but when someone suggests a review I like to do it. My Granny Writes Erotica is a laugh a minute story with a few moments that steal your breath! I really enjoyed it and if it ever appears on Paperback I will definitely be giving copies to my family to read.

 Where on God’s green earth am I going to raise that sort of money? I’m a pensioner!” thought Betty. Then her eyes fell on her daughter’s copy of Fifty Shades of Grey.

65-year-old Betty had given up on her life’s ambition to write a bestselling novel. However, after walking in on her husband with a lady of the night, she finds herself single and with mounting debts. In need of a ‘get rich quick’ scheme, straight-laced Betty decides to try her hand at writing an erotic novel.

With little experience in matters of the libido, Betty finds herself ill-equipped to pursue her goal. So she sets out to acquire carnal knowledge without arousing the suspicions of her prudish friends and uptight family.

When her embittered mother-in-law finds a butt plug in the slow cooker, it seems like the game is up. Will Betty be able to prevent bankruptcy with her salacious prose before her source of income is exposed?”

Now, usually, I despise seeing pop culture references in books. I hate to see Facebook pop up as I tend to find it dates a piece of literature irreparably. However, it works in this book. The references to facebook are minimal and yet make the moment and the book also references the current erotica sensation “Fifty Shades of Grey” by E L James. I think this works due to the content of the book and I’d be interested to know whether James has read this particular book, if not, I’d suggest she does.

I like the way that this book is written, it’s easy to read and yet witty and a bit cheeky, it takes skill to write like that.

This was my first Rosen Trevithick book but it won’t be the last!

6/10 for a cheeky little number!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

