Grey Days Vol 1: Run The Day by Matthew C Davis

 If you’re looking for a nice, simple, easy read.. this book is NOT for you! That is not necessarily a bad thing.

 This book is not the type of thing which everyone will automatically love, and that’s fine, it doesn’t apologise for what it is, it doesn’t try to sell itself to everyone, it is what it is.

 So, what do we have in this book? The forces of good and evil coming together, strange other-worldly creatures, mages, angels..oh and a small Mexican family. If you don’t like the sound of that then back away now because Mr Davis is ready and raring to whisk you away on the adventure of a lifetime!

 I loved this book, the only thing is it felt like it was longer than it was. There’s a reason for this, I have to be in the mood for this type of story. It’s great but it’s none-stop action, there’s always something going on and whilst it doesn’t exhaust itself or feel in the slightest bit forced, I was exhausted just reading it! The main character, Tommy, is a Mage and the energy his character soaks up is unbelievable.

 How can you be exhausted reading a book? Easily! Davis allows the reader some artistic license when reading his books, a must for me. So when I get given the situations in this book my imagination gets a chance to go wild! To me, that is what a book should do. It should remove you so far from your own world that you get to look into someone else’s head and steal from their imagination. This is why books are so much more special to me than films, your imagination has no limits, films do.

 Rosa the cleaning lady plays a big part of the comedic essence in this book and I love her for it, the things she comes out with are naturally funny. The kind of things you would possibly imagine saying in these situations. There is nothing slapstick about this book but it had me giggling in certain parts. I’ll tell you what Rosa first reminded me of;

 

Yep, and that is what I had in my head the entire time I was reading this book. Of course only Davis can tell us if that was any inspiration to him, and I kind of doubt it.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this book even if it did take me a long time to read it, and I’m looking forward to seeing more of Davis’ work.

If you’d like to get your hands on a copy of the book you can do so at;

http://www.amazon.com/Run-Day-Grey-Days-Volume/dp/1482605163

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Run-Day-Grey-Days-ebook/dp/B00B6T9PSM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1383373786&sr=8-1&keywords=run+the+day+grey+days+by+matthew+c+davis

6/10

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

