Girl Z: My Life as a Teenage Zombie by Christine Verstraete

 

In a world hit by the zombie virus, Christine Verstraete shows us an example of true friendship, teamwork and determination. For me, this is a new vision of a tried and tested genre with realistic consequences including mobs and discrimination.

I’ll be honest, of all the zombie books I’ve read, this one is a refreshingly girly book. Don’t get me wrong I’m not that girly but it’s nice to see an author prove that girls can enjoy horror. Quite often I get surprised comments about how much I enjoy horror books and films. Apparently it’s not an attractive trait in a woman to enjoy watching/reading about zombies, serial killers etc.. I say it’s a matter of opinion!

Throughout the book we follow Rebecca Hayes, a sixteen year old girl with nothing more than boys and clothes on her mind, until everything changes. Christine wastes no time getting the story going whilst still developing her characters and their surroundings. The nice thing about the way this author writes is that every reader will have their own settings in their imagination. Due to much of the story being set in school, hospital and driving, you can tailor the story to what you’ve seen. This makes it much easier to let yourself flow along with it. I do find that some authors tend to over-describe and that’s just not something that would attract me to a book.

 The illness Rebecca suffers with and the discrimination she experiences at the hands of it reminds me of Iain Rob Wright’s “The Peeling”. His book is aimed more at the flesh eating disease “Necrotizing Faciitis” but the consequences of other people’s fear is very similar. Unfortunately it is all part of the human condition; that which we fear, must be destroyed.

As well as the horrifying reality that the majority of the population just want to eat you and the rest are fearful of you, some trying to kill you, there is also hope. The friendship described in this book is heart warming and at times, heartbreaking. The understandable strains on the people closest to Rebecca are well executed and lovingly nurtured.

 I very much enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more from Christine Verstraete. It was much better than I was expecting and would suggest people try it out before making up their minds.

 http://www.amazon.co.uk/Girl-My-Life-Teenage-Zombie/dp/0979478898/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1387129139&sr=8-1&keywords=girl+z+my+life+as+a+teenage+zombie

6/10.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Girl Z: My Life as a Teenage Zombie by Christine Verstraete

  1. Thank you! Thanks so much Rebbie for the great review and I’m so glad you enjoyed the book! Appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

