Interview with Mike Jeavons

This is my interview with Mike Jeavons, author of The Secret Circle of Imaginary Friends. Some of you may also know him as Mike J from his internet shows.

Thank you Mike for your time, hopefully this will give everyone a chance to get to know you a little better;

What made you want to be an author?

I can be quite a selfish person when it comes to creative endeavours, and writing fiction is the best way to take total control of what you produce. You’re the boss, you can do what you want, and if other people don’t agree with you then they’re powerless to change it. If I have an idea that I love then I want to shape it exactly how I want to, and with other creative channels you can’t always do that.

You can do anything with the written word. There are no limitations, which is what I love.

Do you have a favourite author/book?

My favourite book is The Comedy Writer by Peter Farrelly. I can relate to it in many ways, and I suggest all aspiring authors give it a read. I love the fantasy genre, so authors such as Terry Brooks, J K Rowling, Philip Pullman, Tolkein etc are all massive idols for me.

The Secret Circle of Imaginary Friends is your first book, what gave you the inspiration for it?

I never had an imaginary friend as a kid, but I always wondered what it would have been like if I had. Over time, I started to think about what kind of story I could fit those ideas around, and eventually the idea that they’re not friendly at all started to form.
What age group were you aiming for when writing the book?

I was aiming for 8-12 year olds with the hope that anybody would be able to sit down and read it.

How do you feel the book has been received so far?

Overall its been positive. It’s a great feeling when I get somebody coming to me saying they’ve enjoyed reading the book.


What made you choose the genre of Children’s Books?

There are less limitations when it comes to writing for children. You can let your imagination run wild and you don’t need to worry about reining things in. There’s no way I’d be able to tell a story about adults having imaginary friends – I just have so much fun when writing for kids as opposed to writing for adults.

Would you ever consider taking your books in a darker direction? Like Horror?

I have a plethora of ideas for different books. Different genres, different target audiences, different themes. Once I’m finished telling the imaginary friends story I’d like to try writing something for an older audience.

Would you consider writing for an older audience?

Absolutely. I have some ideas which just wouldn’t be suited to a younger audience. On saying that, I also have some ideas for fiction for an even younger audience. I love writing rhyming poetry, so I’d love to try and write a series for very young children.

Are you working on anything now, if so, what can you tell us about it?

I’m working on a follow up to The Secret Circle of Imaginary Friends. I wrote the first book and left certain points open with the intention of continuing the series. I’m hoping the second book in the series will be completed and released in 2014.

What do you consider to be the most important aspects of a book?

The story. For me there are two key aspects to writing a book: being a good story teller and being a good writer. There are certain authors who have made it big by being a good story teller whilst perhaps not being a particularly good writer. You won’t find many examples of authors the other way around though.

Do you have any words for aspiring authors?

Just write. Write even if you think you’re terrible. With everything, practice makes perfect, so make sure you do plenty of practising. I’m not going to pretend I’m a flawless writer, I learn something new every time I open my word processor or pick up a pen. Just don’t give in and keep on writing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

