Beast of Burden by Nelson Samuels

Beast of Burden

So, I thought I’d give Nelson Samuels another go. His book “Beast of Burden” seemed to have an interesting concept and I figured just because I didn’t like one of his, doesn’t mean I won’t like this one.

This story opens with some rather strange goings on indeed, I’m not sure where it’s set but the something suggests to me that it’s somewhere south in America. I wouldn’t like to hazard a guess, having never been over there.

The idea of the story is actually really good and it doesn’t take long to read. For me, it’s a nice light read for the way to and from work. Of course if you are particularly easily upset, I’d swerve this one if I were you!

I won’t go in to it too much because I don’t want to spoil it, if you want to know what happens then go, buy it and read it. It’s not expensive.

The writing style that Mr Samuels employs is a very simple one. It’s quite like stage direction and it does bring the idea over quite effectively. The only thing I would say is that I’d really like to see him put a little more in to his work, I do believe that he could make his books a lot more uncomfortable if he added a little zest, a bit more description and imagery. That being said, if this style works for him then there’s no reason to change it. It’s sometimes better to write how you’re comfortable than to try to write like someone else.

If you’d like to buy the book you can get it here;

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Beast-Burden-Nelson-Samuels-ebook/dp/B00MEMKGH4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1408737904&sr=8-1&keywords=beast+of+burden+nelson+samuels

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

