Guest Post and Interview with Nelson Samuels

An Introduction to Nelson Samuels

Nelson Samuels

My name is Nelson Samuels and I, along with using a pen name in another genre, have published over forty titles. I live in the Southeastern part of the United States, and I am the single Father to a beautiful ten year old daughter. I began writing as a hobby, but it quickly grew to be more of an obsession. I’ve attempted to create my own style, and I’m not sure if I’m succeeding or not. I don’t believe in censorship in any form, and I approach my writing very much the same way. I find no subject too taboo or off limits to discuss in my material. More times than not, my stories within the horror and thriller genre, have underlying themes beyond the violence, sex, and gore. Many dealing with themes of faith, redemption, or religion. I use a lot of symbolism and metaphorical images. Every part of what I write has a meaning behind it, even if it’s not immediately apparent to the reader. I’ve written one bizarro genre title as Nelson Samuels, and may write a few more. It was an interesting experiment to say the least. Other than writing, I’m looking to direct my first film very soon. I enjoy art in all of its forms, and try to find the beauty in everything. 

Interview with Nelson Samuels.

How long have you been a writer?

I began writing around two years ago.

What made you want to write?

Honestly, I was bored and needed a new hobby. I’ve always been artistic, both with music and in dabbling a bit in photography, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

What’s your favourite book?

Strangely enough, it’s “The Wizard of Oz”.

For you, what is the most important aspect of a book?

For me it’s keeping what could normally be a complex structure, simple. I’ve tried to incorporate a style very much of my own. I attempt to stay away from things such as telling the reader what color the curtains are in a room, although at times I still do. I attempt to leave much of what the reader sees visually in their minds, as far details such as those, completely up to their own imaginations. I see every story I write as a movie in my mind before I ever write it, from beginning to the end. I edit and rewrite the scenes as I go, before I ever actually physically put it down. Which may explain why much of my writing appears as stage direction versus what many other authors do.

What inspires you to write?

Life. It’s as simple as that. Much of my stories contain symbolism and metaphorical images that very much relate to everyday occurrences of my life either today, or from my past. Obviously I’ve never experienced any of the violence I write about, however, there are deeper meanings behind each and every scene that’s written. Honestly, if I’m honest, there’s a lot of emotional pain hidden in many of the words and actions. Underlying the torment and death, there are often themes of faith and redemption as well. It’s a healing process really.

Out of all of your books, which of your characters can you relate to the most?

All of them, but only because of the symbolism, and not because of the characteristics I’ve written them with.

Do you write other genres, or do you have your feet firmly planted on the dark side?

I do write in one other genre, and under a pen name. I won’t reveal anything about it however, but most of my forty plus titles are published under the other genre.

Are you working on anything new right now? If so, what can you tell us about it?

I am currently working on a title called “The Hill People”, and you may or may not be able to gather any information about the story from that alone. I can’t reveal anything else. I don’t want to spoil it.

Do you have any words for aspiring authors?

Just write! Start putting your words down, even if you think they’re terrible. You’ll eventually find your voice. I’m still finding mine with every title I publish. I believe I’ll never stop evolving as an author, and no good one ever should. You should always strive to be the best at everything you do, whether it’s writing or gardening.

Is there anything additional you’d like to say to our readers?

You are amazing, even when you don’t believe that you are! Never let anyone make you feel anything less about yourself! Know that you matter! You were created for a purpose! Be the best you that you can be! Never give up!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

