Ye Olde Dolphin Inne, Derby.

Ye Olde Dolphin Sign

My boyfriend and I recently went for a weekend away in Derby. One of the first places we visited after getting off the train was Ye Olde Dolphin Inne which is the oldest pub in Derby and one of the most haunted!

As it was Hallowe’en, they had decorated the bar with cobwebs and the bar staff were all dressed up. We were glad to see that somewhere was celebrating! We decided whilst we were there we would have some lunch, so we both ordered a steak with peppercorn sauce. The food was delicious and I was impressed to have found a pub that knew what rare meant! Unfortunately, nobody ever seems to want to cook a steak rare, it’s always more like medium, but this pub even put a key on the menu so that people know what they’re ordering.

Ye Olde Dolphin Inne is a really friendly and welcomming pub and whilst it’s not a big place it’s still comfortable. We tried some lovely real ales while we were there and we both enjoyed the food. I had a good chat to the ladies behind the bar and as it turns out they had been featured in the paper that day. I asked if I could get a picture of them along with their article but unfortunately they were busy and I didn’t manage to get back over the weekend to take it later (sorry ladies!!)

The only reason I didn’t manage to get back is that we were only there for a couple of days and so there was lots to do in not too much time, however, should I be in the area again I will definitely be back and I’d recommend it to anybody!

If you would like to visit, you can find this pub at the following address;

Queen St
Derby
DE1 3DL

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

