Avon Gorge Hotel – Bristol, UK

avon gorge hotel

When I booked my room in Avon Gorge Hotel I knew it was going to be nice but honestly the pictures do not do it justice.

The entrance has two sets of automatic wooden doors opening in to a beautiful reception area. The the right is a reception desk with friendly staff who are happy to help, and to the left is a staircase with thick brown carpet which runs throughout the hotel, and a bar area with a dazzling menu.

I would love to go again when I can really enjoy Bristol, I only went for one night but I would have loved to stay longer, sample some of the food and have a proper look around Bristol. I would definitely choose Avon Gorge Hotel.

My room was gorgeous, not too big but not too small, a double bed which was really nice and firm, and an en suite with shower over bath. I had two huge white fluffy towels, two hand towels and a bath mat. I felt very much at home. It took me a minute to locate the tea tray which was hidden inside a cupboard on the desk but it was stocked with two packets of biscuits, tea, coffee and a sachet of hot chocolate.

We went down to the bar for a drink which actually wasn’t all that expensive, my friend and I both had spirit mixers and the bill was £4.90 which is really not expensive for a hotel bar. Unfortunately we’d both worked all day and travelled for hours so we called it a day and went up to bed. Snuggling into my double bed was absolutely lovely that night after such a long day!

In the morning we met for breakfast and went to the restaurant area, there were all kinds of things available for breakfast. Meat & Cheese, fruits, pain au chocolat, croissants, bread and cereals. Toast was brought to our table along with tea and coffee and then there was a breakfast bar with full cooked breakfast options. Something I don’t see very often on breakfast bars is Black Pudding. I think it’s probably because it has the potential to dry out and isn’t always the most popular item but Avon Gorge have it all. We very much enjoyed breakfast and I was sad to be leaving so soon.

I’ll definitely be back at Avon Gorge at some point and I’d recommend it to anybody wanting to stay in Bristol.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

