Day 4 of PK Hrezo Week! Interview with PK Hrezo!

PK Hrezo

Welcome to Day 4 of PK Hrezo Week! Today I have an interview to show you;

Thank you very much for taking the time to do this interview. Hopefully it will give our readers a chance to get to know you a little better.

What made you want to become an author?

I’ve always been a writer. At a young age I realized I was narrating my walks to and from the school bus stop, and that clued me in. I was always dreaming up stories throughout my childhood and teen years, but was under the impression I needed to experience life before I could write about it. It wasn’t til I hit thirty and after my second child was born that I began actively pursuing a path as a novelist.

What inspired you to write The Butterman Time Travel Series?

I’ve been writing fiction for the past six years and my work was having more and more sci-fi elements. I grew up with Doctor Who and Back to the Future and Somewhere in Time, and I really wanted to do a time travel story, but wasn’t sure how to go about it. I knew I needed something unique because so much had already been done. I’ve worked for an airline for almost eighteen years so I’m an expert in the travel industry. It dawned on me one day to take that expertise and create a plausible time travel industry. Butterman Time Travel, Inc. was born!

Which character can you most relate to?

I think people are surprised when I say I relate more to Tristan than Bianca. His laid back personality is one I easily identify with. That’s not to say I don’t relate to Bianca, but I consciously made her different from me because she’s the kind of person I’d want in charge of my time trip. She’s way smarter and more organized than I am. 😉

Were any of your characters inspired by real people?

Tristan is an amalgam of real life rock and pop stars. A little of this person, a little of that person.

Are you working on anything now? If so, what can you tell us about it?

I am! I’m halfway finished with a memoir I’m writing for the mom of a local rape survivor. We successfully ran a Kickstarter campaign for this project last October. It’s the real life account of Queena, who, at age eighteen, was attacked at the local library and left for dead. She lost the use of her eyes, legs, hands, and speech due to severe brain trauma. You can learn more about her on her website, JoinQueena.com.

I’m also writing a New Adult contemporary romance and the third book in the Butterman series, The Tides of Time. Yeah, I’m a little bit busy.

There are to be more books in The Butterman Time Travel Series, how many do you think you’ll write before their story is told?

The third novel, The Tides of Time, will be the last. It will finish Bianca and Tristan’s story, and knowing how emotional it will be is why I’ve probably been putting off writing it. I know exactly what’s to come, so I just need to execute it. I have no plans to continue the series … but never say never, right??

Who is your favourite author?

I love Johanna Lyndsey for historical romance and Gillian Flynn for contemporary suspense. For classics, Jane Austen, Bram Stoker, JRR Tolkien, and Alexandre Dumas.

What is your favourite book?

Dracula, The Count of Monte Cristo, Gone with the Wind …. But gosh it’s so hard to pick favorites. I love so many different stories and authors.

Do you have any words for aspiring authors?

Of course! I have done plenty of time in the trenches of aspiring author-dom. It is truly a labor of love that comes with no hacks or no shortcuts. It takes passion and perseverance, and you can never give up. Always keep writing, always keep reading. Put your heart and soul into every new story, and if it doesn’t turn into the masterpiece you’d hoped for, that’s okay. Move onto the next story. Each story we write is a stepping stone to becoming a great author. Each endeavour is important, even if nothing ever comes of it. Eventually, it all adds up.

Thankyou very much for taking the time to complete this interview.

Thank you so much for the opportunity, Rebbie. It has been a pleasure!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

