Metro 2033 by Dmitry Glukhovsky

metro-2033-book-cover

My other half recommended that I read Metro 2033 by Dmitry Glukhovsky so I figured I’d give it a go. He had really enjoyed it and I’d enjoyed watching him play the game so I grabbed the book.

This book is amazing, it’s so well written that you can totally imagine being there and it’s really made me want to go to Russia to have a look around!

The book is set in the Metro after the surface becomes uninhabitable due to war. The basic idea is similar to Fallout if you’ve ever played that. Human civilisation has persevered and adapted to living under ground, each station is like it’s own town with it’s own beliefs and ideas and you can see where all of the ideas have come from as you read through the book.

I would say that this book is not for the easily distracted. Unfortunately my attention span has been terrible this year because my personal life has just been so busy, this meant I was reading until I fell asleep with the book, or getting to the point where I was too tired to concentrate. As a result it took me months to read it. Due to the author being Russian and this book having been translated to English the names are all Russian. This means that unless you already know the names it might be a little bit difficult to get used to. Luckily for me, my Auntie is Russian so she has explained what things are and even a bit about where some of the places are.

Glukhovsky has even gone as far as to set up religions and backgrounds for these beliefs and in doing so has made the book even more realistic. Without wanting to spoil the story I can’t go into this too much and I loved when some of the things came up because I wasn’t expecting it. This means that although I desperately want to tell you about every little thing in this book, I can’t because I really do want you to read it yourself.

It’s difficult to give a basic outline of the plot because of how intricately it’s been put together so that the main character, Artyom, meets the other characters along the way. Artyom is on a journey through the Metro to try to save his home station, VDNKh. He meets people who are nice and want to help and some people who just want to cause problems. Artyom’s quest is tested at every station and the adventures he has are fantastically written. Another thing which interested me in this book is how in the underground the people live on the only things they can really rely on keeping underground. Mushrooms, pork, and in some cases, Rats. They even make tea out of the mushrooms!

I would definitely recommend these books to anyone and I will be reading more of Glukhovsky’s work. If you would like to give this book a try, you can grab it here

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

