All In The Leaves by Pat Elliott

All In the Leaves

 

A tea-leaf reading. A prediction of a fabulous life to come. Can your future really be told in a cup?

All in the leaves is a story about a thirty year old single woman, down in the dumps and desperate for something good to happen. She’s so down that during a visit to her friend’s house she has her leaves read and she’s given a whole host of things that will happen to her if she opens herself up to the opportunities.

With this in mind Anna begins to try to take a chance and finds that not everything is as impossible as it may seem. Even managing to find love along the way.

This is a very girly book, and not something my very un-girly self is used to reading. However, I thought I’d give it a bash! I am glad that I did because actually I found myself warmed by this story and the icy heart inside me melted a bit. During certain scenes my eyes were even filling up!

This book had me laughing and sometimes almost crying! Not many authors do that to me, I have long been known as the Ice Queen by my close family. I think I earned that title as a child in fact when I didn’t cry at Bambi.

There are animals in this book too, so there’s a bit of something for us all.


I found only one issue when reading this book, which I have spoken with the Author about and which has not come up in any of the reviews I’ve read. The proof readers didn’t even find it!

That issue is that two of the characters meet twice – for the first time. It didn’t spoil the book for me at all and doesn’t really detract from the story. It just made me go “hey… wait a minute…” and then on I went with the book. In fact in all honesty it’s a line in the book that you could pull out and it wouldn’t affect the story at all. It is however, something I noticed and it wouldn’t be fair of me not to mention it in review when I’ve pulled other authors up on mistakes.

Pat however was lovely when I mentioned the mistake and even seemed quite impressed that I had found it.

I have seen other reviews mention how easily Anna falls in love and they say that’s the only thing that detracts from the story. Some people have seen this as unrealistic. Which I guess for a lot of people it is, but I have known people who are like Anna and I know that there are whirlwind romances out there so it didn’t really bother me. I found Anna to be a really great main character and all of the other characters are nicely written. Apart from the emotional turmoil of the book it’s quite an easy read and is great for relaxing.

There is another book out which is a continuation of the story, this time centred around Anna’s friend Chloe I will of course be reading this one as well.

I have also been recently informed (during my chat with the author) that there will be a third book. Again I will be reading this one so reviews will follow for both of these books.

If you would like to read the book please click here

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

