The Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski.

The Last Wish  by Andrzej Sapkowski

Having been playing the game Witcher 3: The Wild Hunt, this book was suggested to me by my Fiance who had started to read it.

I hadn’t known about the Witcher games until I started playing Witcher 3, and had no idea that there were books. Eagerly, I started to read the book for some more background on the character that perhaps the game wouldn’t have mentioned.

I’ve never really been all that interested in the fantasy genre, preferring instead to pick up a Ghost Story or Thriller (although there have been exceptions to the rule including Eoin Colfer’s Artemis Fowl), it was only really when I started reviewing that I began to take an interest in anything fantasy, however I really found myself enjoying this book. The description in the book is fantastic, allowing me to imagine everything and feel immersed in the story.

The book is a collection of stories following Geralt’s journey and allows you to follow him in his work as a monster hunter. I found a kind of childish nostalgia in some of the stories, finding myself seeing certain similarities to children’s stories such as Beauty and the Beast. Sex, drugs and violence are an ongoing theme throughout the stories but it’s written in such a way that it doesn’t make it a trashy read. It brings a sort of grit to the Witcher’s world making it in some ways so much more real.

This is a story that you can really sink your teeth into and flow with, I found myself hardly able to put it down at times wanting to see what happened next to Geralt of Rivia, Witcher.

I would very much recommend this read to any Fantasy or Gaming fan. Whilst the book is not exactly light reading, it is written exceptionally well and I think most will find enjoyment in it.

Grab it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

