A Life to Waste by Andrew Lennon, Narrated by Steve White.

A Life to Waste.PNG

I want to like this book, I do, and the story is very good. However..

The title of the book is immediately followed by “A novel of violence and horror”.. I really didn’t find it particularly violent..

I mean. There is violence in it, but I wouldn’t call it a novel of violence. It’s hard to explain without giving away the whole thing and once it gets going it has a really dark section to it, but it didn’t shock me or horrify me.

I think the book would stand up a lot better if it didn’t come with the tag line. If you want to shock your audience, don’t market it as a violent book.

I’ll try to explain myself without giving too much away. There’s a lot of back story about our main character, Dave. We find out about who he’s become, how he started out and the events that led to present day Dave. It’s actually quite a way through the story when it picks up the pace and by that time I didn’t really care about his welfare.

It passed on some time, but I think it could have done with a bit of a polish. If the author really wanted it to be a violent book then it needs more, but if it was to simply be a horror/thriller all he’d have to do is tie up some loose ends. It’s ok to not explain everything, but it doesn’t really feel like it explains anything.

The narration was good, but sometimes during the voices Mr White goes a bit posh for no apparent reason. If you can’t keep a consistent voice I’d say it’s fair not to do voices.

If you’d like to give the book a go yourself, it can be found here

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

