1984 by George Orwell

1984 is terrifyingly relevant and a gripping book. The story walks you through life as a Party Member, trying to survive under the control of the government (aka big brother) and avoid the Thought Police.

The scary thing about this book is that it really feels like it could happen. What with political correctness reaching the levels it is, and the banning of Islamophobia in some areas (let me say right now I don’t think hate is good anywhere, but these laws take it to the extreme where simply disagreeing can be a crime), it really gives food for thought. In the age of “man-spreading” and “man-splaining” and “womyn” this does seem like the next step society will take.

This is an extremely well written book which has stood the test of time and is still very, very popular. I would love to see the film, although I’m unsure if it could be as good or better than reading it for myself, it would just be nice to see what they have done with it.

I would absolutely recommend this book, it is quite political, but I think even the people who don’t want to think it’s relevant will struggle to not link any of it to the present day.

I won’t dwell too much on it, because I want you to read it and quite frankly, I’ve struggled to write this review. To put a book like this in to words is just really difficult. I may revisit this book later to try to explain a bit more about the feeling invoked by it and the relevance of it, but for now, suffice to say it’s scarily relevant and an absolute honor to English Literature.

Grab it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

