Brave the Beaver Has the Worry Warts

Click on the Cover to Buy the Book

I recently came across this little book on Amazon, and it’s free for the Kindle by the way. Although I should mention it wouldn’t work on mine and I had to get the app for my phone to make it work. It probably does work on newer kindles, like the fire for example.

So I picked this up because it’s a book on worry and anxiety aimed at little kids and I quite liked the idea of that. I have anxiety myself and so often kids misunderstand their feelings and say “I’ve got a tummy ache” which really means “I’m super worried and a bit upset” but we focus on the tummy ache because it’s the easy fix and it’s what we’re being told is wrong.

It’s a very simple and pretty book, but there is something I don’t like in it. Right near the beginning of the book, Brave is worried and he says a little poem to make the worries go away and immediately goes to sleep.

Now, I realise we can’t really tell kids “if you’re worried you’ll lay there ALL night wondering why you’re alive” but when you have anxiety – you do not just say a rhyme and immediately fall asleep. That said, that is my only complaint and it IS aimed at very small kids so again, I kind of get it, it just annoyed me.

Throughout the book Brave learns to deal with his worries and eventually the warts go away. It’s a very short read and I’d be interested in what parents think of it. It does come with some discussion materials so that you can talk to the child after the book, and it seems to me that someone is at least trying to deal with what can be a difficult topic to broach with children so that is a great start.

I do quite like Brave’s worry rhyme too so here it is;

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment