Only Time Will Tell by Jeffrey Archer

Click on the Cover to Buy the Book!

I recently listened to Only Time Will Tell by Jeffrey Archer which has been sitting in my Audible account forever and I can’t believe I left it so long. It’s a great story.

So this is part of my Beat the Backlog reads for this month, and I’m pleased to say it was worth the wait. Slowly but surely I’m getting down my Audible library! And obviously I’m filling it up just as fast.. but whatever..

This story is part of The Clifton Chronicles, and it’s book 1. I will definitely be looking to continue because it ends in such a way that you just need to know. It’s nice to have a character you can get invested in like you can with the main character, Harry Clifton.

At the start, and I don’t know whether it’s just the way the narrator read it, it did give me Harry Potter vibes. Because you have a young boy from.. now I don’t want to say an underprivileged background because I don’t like that thought. I guess because I grew up in a similar way, money-wise. However at the side of the other characters I guess he does, and he gets a scholarship to go to a Private Boarding school with prefects and a couple of friends who he bonds with.

I guess its a similar recipe.

That is where the vibes end, this guy isn’t a wizard (sorry magic fans), the story will however keep you turning pages.. or listening to them depending on the method you choose to ingest it.

In a never ending tirade of events, things go badly for the Clifton family as often as they go well. This story is very relatable in that way. There’s always something to overcome.

This tale begins in 1920, when Harry is born and runs through his life to 1940 when the Second World War begins, and you get to see how this impacted people’s expectations for their lives. In addition to the other things Harry overcomes, it’s just one thing after another for him as the book ends with yet another problem..

I really enjoyed this and I’ve actually realised that it might be a subject I want to look at a bit more, I’m sure there are plenty of stories set in this time so you can expect more to land on the blog.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment