Princess at Heart by Connie Glynn

Click on the Cover to buy the book

Book 4!!!! I loved this one! I am very excited to read Book 5 but expect a wait for that one because I have so many other things I also need to tell you about. Plus its a physical copy and those sometimes take longer due to a range of reasons.

Please, please, if you’re here wanting to read this series, please have read the first few books before you’ve got here! You’re missing the story until you do and I want so many people to love this series as much as I do.


I got swept off my feet by these books and I’m really digging Connie’s writing style and sense of adventure.

There’s been adventure, excitement, mystery, ups and downs and tests of friendship through this series but in this one we really see those things start of set in. The pressure is really taking its toll on our characters now and we get to see their reactions to some of the things that have been building up.

With lots of things at stake at this point in the series, we see new sides to our characters and how they’ve grown since Book 1, not necessarily all of the changes are for the best but this is what makes them human.

There is quite some focus on romance in this series and particularly in this book, which I find is a theme in most Young Adult, and I’ve seen some confusion at the representation in other reviews I’ve seen. So just to mention to people thinking of reading this and sharing it with their children and all of that, yes, there is quite a bit of focus on romantic feelings towards each other but given that this section is aimed at kids who are starting to explore their own feelings that is actually important.

There will be kids who don’t know who they’re attracted to yet, there will be kids who do and are fine with who they are, others might be feeling isolated and that’s why this is important to have for young teens. But the group I wanted specifically to highlight, are the kids who might be confusing friendships for something more, who might be attributing romantic feelings to friends who they’re very close to because that happens and it happens between same sex friendships, even when they don’t identify as gay. It’s part of growing up and its something I haven’t seen in a book before but I thought it was a good part to include.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment