Season of the Spirit by Lex H Jones

Click on the cover to buy the book!

You’re in for a treat this Christmas as Lex H Jones has not only released another short story to a Christmas collection but brought out his very own collection comprising of all seven of this own Christmas Horror Shorts.

This is a beautiful little book, and a quick read too at 125 pages. You could either read a story at a time (if you can stop yourself at one) or sit and read the whole thing in one go!

These stories have appeared previously in various collections but now you can get them all in one place and I for one am very excited about that.

I love how personal the foreword is, it’s a perfect opportunity to get to know the Author a little bit and it’s lovely that he wanted to share a memory with his readers.

The first story in the book is the beautiful ‘Partridge in a Pear Tree’ which was previously published in Jones’ very own collection ‘Whistling Past the Graveyard’. This is perhaps my favorite of Jones’ Christmas Stories with its classical tone and fabulous imagery.

Another very strong story in this book is ‘The Advent of Father Hirst’ which could be a contender for the favorite spot, this one was previously in ‘The Horror Collection – White Edition’ from KJK Publishing. I love the tone again of this one and the way that the events just come to life. Jones is an extremely talented author in that way, bringing the unimaginable into your mind in such a seemingly effortless way.

‘The Lights Aren’t As Good As They Used To Be’ is another gorgeous Christmas horror which was previously part of the Sinister Horror Advent Calendar in 2020, this one is very relatable and the way it’s written it could be set anywhere you’ve been before at Christmas. It’s so flexible in the way that it gets into your mind that it makes you feel like you’re standing inside the story.

“Top Floor Furnishings and Seasonal Decorations” is another of Jones’ stories where I felt like I was following the character around, watching what was going on. This Author is from my own home town so I can see where the inspiration for the settings in these stories is coming from and it gives it that added bit of nostalgia for me. This was a fabulous story and it was previously published in ‘The Best of Indie Horror: Christmas Edition’ again by KJK Publishing.

Now, you will notice when you grab this book that I haven’t reviewed these stories in order. I’ve briefly touched on these four because they’ve been on the blog before but somehow two of the stories in this book have evaded review previously so these, as well as Jones’ newest released only this year have not been spoken about here.

“Red Frost” is a dark tale about a pair of friends who after serving together in the war fall upon some unfortunate times upon their return. The imagery in this story is brilliant and although it doesn’t directly reference Christmas itself it belongs with the season. I really enjoyed this story and I think its a nice tone shift.

“The Fourth Emergency Service” is this year’s new Christmas story which hasn’t had a release prior to this year, it’s a fantastic setting and I absolutely love the idea that this kind of work place exists. The events of this story play out in a really interesting way and I got some slight x-files vibes from it.

“Yet to Come” is a story I LOVED, it feels a bit “It’s a Wonderful Life” inspired and it’s a perfect close for this little Christmas book. What a great story to end on with an absolutely brilliant ending that I won’t spoil – but it is just so Christmassy I love it!

I got really excited when I heard this book was coming because these are some brilliant stories and the idea of a Lex H Jones Christmas book was too fantastic, it can join my little pile of christmassy reads that I’ll pick up year after year.

This is available on kindle, paperback and hardback so grab what’s best for you but looking at that cover I think it would look just lovely on everyone’s bookshelf as a physical item and I shall definitely be having one of these myself!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment