The Viking’s Apprentice by Kevin McLeod.

I’ll be honest. I wasn’t expecting much from this book. It’s really not my thing and not a genre I tend to read, the artwork on the cover is nice. I found this author when I opened up my Rebbie Reviews twitter account and thought I’d give it a whirl.

So, what did I think? Well it seemed a little strange, the book opens with vikings and then the next thing you know you’re in a school at the end of term. I figured it’d be some little boy’s wild imagination or a school project. Peter, our main character is going to spend the summer at his grandad’s house in Campbell’s Cove. Then the book really gets going! This is a story like none I’ve ever read, it’s got everything from kids to vikings to witches, trolls and talking bears!

Aimed at older children and young adults, it’s fun for a wide range of people including those who are fans of the genre, it’s well written with good description but still allowing that bit of artistic license for the reader. It’s easy to read and I could not put this book down, by mid way through I was completely hooked and excited to see what would happen next.

I’d definitely recommend this book to anyone but any of you guys with young teens? Get this book to them!

9/10

Kevin’s next book is in the works now and I for one, cannot wait to read it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Viking’s Apprentice by Kevin McLeod.

  1. Pingback: The Master’s Revenge by Kevin McLeod | Rebbie Reviews

Leave a comment